CNN에 따르면, 인스타그램이 스크롤 할 콘텐츠가 부족하지 않도록 노력 중에 있다.

페이스북 소유의 인스타그램은 지난 19일(현지시간), 자신이 팔로우하는 계정의 최신 글을 모두 보고 나면 나타날 ‘추천 콘텐츠(Suggested Posts)’을 발표했다. “새 콘텐츠를 모두 확인했습니다”는 알림글을 보면 스크롤 할 수 있는 추천 콘텐츠가 제공되는데, 이 콘텐츠는 마음에 드는 피드 게시물, 저장하거나 댓글을 달았던 게시물 유형에 따라 관심사에 맞게 개인화된다.

담당자인 로비 스타인은 CNN 비즈니스와의 인터뷰를 통해 “피드의 연장선 상이라고 생각하면 될 듯하다”라고 말했다.

추천 콘텐츠는 이미 관련 콘텐츠를 사용자에게 제공하고 있는 인스타그램의 탐색 페이지와 비슷한 개념이다. 인스타그램은 1차 피드의 하단에 추가 추천 콘텐츠를 배치함으로써 사용자가 앱에 소비하는 시간을 늘리고, 광고를 서비스할 수 있는 새로운 공간을 만들 수 있을 것으로 예상된다.

이 기능은 인스타그램의 사업적 측면에는 긍정적일 수 있지만, 페이스북, 사용자들이 온라인에서 보내는 시간의 양을 더 늘릴 수 있을지는 미지수이다. 

인스타그램 측은 ‘추천 콘텐츠’ 기능을 발표하면서 일부 사용자들은 피드의 끝에 도달한 후 탐색 탭이나 검색 창으로 이동하여 더 많은 정보를 찾고 있는 반면, 다른 사용자들은 앱에서 완전히 종료되는 것을 발견했다고 밝혔다.

 


 

Instagram is trying to make sure you never run out of content to scroll through.

On Wednesday, the Facebook-owned platform announced “Suggested Posts,” which will show up at the bottom of your feed after you’ve viewed all the recent posts from accounts you follow. Now when you see the notification that “you’re all caught up,” you’ll also be presented with additional content to scroll through, which will be personalized to your interests based on the types of feed posts you like, save or comment on.

“It’s like an extension of your feed,” Robby Stein, who leads Instagram’s consumer products, said in an interview with CNN Business.

The concept is similar to Instagram’s Explore page, which already surfaces relevant content for users. By placing additional recommended content at the bottom of the primary feed, Instagram may boost the amount of time users spend on the app and also create a new place to serve ads.

While the feature could be good for Instagram’s business, it arguably stands in contrast to efforts by Facebook, (FB) Instagram and other platforms to help users be more mindful of the amount of time they spend online.

In announcing the “Suggested Posts” feature, Instagram said it noticed some users were reaching the end of their feed and then moving to the Explore tab or the search bar to find more things to browse, while others would close out of the app entirely.